T.J. Hockenson Authentic Jersey  India Seatrade News

AV Vijaykumar appointed chairman of FFFAI


AV Vijaykumar, who earlier was chairman-elect, has taken over as chairman of Chennai the Federation of Freight Forwarders’ Associations in India (FFFAI).

Shankar Shinde has been appointed as chairman-elect for the coming two years, while Vinod Sharma, Alan Jose and Mandava Satyanarayana have become the newly elected vice chairmen of the FFFAI. PS Atree, Rajesh Verma and Sudip Dey have been re-elected as vice chairmen. Dushyant Mulani and Sudhir Agarwal have been elected unopposed as honorary secretary and honorary treasurer, respectively.

The appointments were made during the 56th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of FFFAI held on September 27 in Chennai.

Prior to the AGM, the FFFAI had its executive committee (EC) meeting. Discussions on opportunities in agri-logistics for domestic and international markets, and skill development initiatives in association with the government were held during the EC meeting.

Outgoing FFFAI chairman Ramakrishna expressed his gratitude to the office bearers, EC members and all member associations for making his brief tenure successful. He emphasised on the recognition to FFFAI from various ministries of the government of India, chambers of commerce and trade bodies at national and international level. He also underlined the importance of developing second line leadership in the Federation to make CHA/ Customs Broking/ Freight Forwarding/ Logistics professions lucrative.

Newly-appointed chairman Vijaykumar said that in the coming days FFFAI would play a more effective and key role in the growth of exim trade, as well as logistics industry in the country, through collective initiatives.